Succession Planning Committee Update

Succession Planning Committee Update

May 15, 2020

Hey, Northland Family!

We are excited to announce that our Succession Planning Committee has been formed! After a prayerful discussion about Pastors, Governing Elders, Shepherding Elders, Staff, and Congregants that could be candidates for the Committee, the Governing Elders selected 15 amazing men and women that represent a wide cross-section of our congregation and who are already involved in disciple-making in their own personal ministry areas.  

While this Committee is not the Pastor Selection Committee (that group will be formed after this Committee finishes its work), it will institute employment policies regarding our next Lead Pastor, set in place the process for selecting our next Lead Pastor, and define the qualities, responsibilities, and qualifications for our next Lead Pastor, ensuring that they are in harmony with Northland’s theology, ministry philosophy, values, and organizational structure.

The Committee had its Kickoff Meeting via Zoom on May 9, which included a discussion of the overall vision for the committee and an extended time of sharing one another’s hearts for ministry at Northland followed by a review of the tasks to be accomplished as listed in the Committee Charter. Nick Maroulis, Governing Elder, and Succession Planning Committee Chair said of the meeting “What a great meeting…I was so blessed to have participated in such an encouraging and collaborative meeting as we begin to seek the Lord and work together for Jesus’ Church at Northland!”

The next steps for the Committee include meeting together every other week for the next 3-6 months to accomplish Committee business as well as gathering on opposite weeks for a 30-minute prayer time. We have not set the exact meeting schedule yet but the Committee is resolved to moving forward methodically and intentionally in order to provide time to seek the Lord in prayer, read the scriptures, and listen to the Holy Spirit as they complete the assigned tasks.

The Committee Members are listed below:

Committee Members

LeDonna Almon
Owusu Amaning
Brenda Beaver
Pastor Gus Davies
Pastor Marsh Hall
Tom Horvath
Mike Kemp, Vice Chairman
Rebecca Lang
Nick Maroulis, Chairman
Natali Reyes
Matt Shiles
Chris Storms
Pastor John Tardonia
Vince Taylor
Carroll Woehr

Committee Resources

Danny Gordon, Resource
Jackie Schurga, Resource

Please be praying for each member of the Committee that God would use their unique voice in committee discussions and that the end result of the process would be a collaborative and cohesive path forward toward selection of our next Lead Pastor!

Serving Him Together!

Danny Gordon
Chairman, Board of Governing Elders

For More Succession Planning Updates >

Related Resources